Standards statement

On 24 June 2024, we published a joint statement with the Institute for Government and UCL Constitution Unit setting out seven steps to restore trust in system for regulating ethics in public life.

This was accompanied by a letter published in The Times, signed by the following people: Hannah White, Professor Meg Russell, Helen MacNamara, Dominic Grieve KC, Rain Newton-Smith, Lord Lisvane, Daniel Bruce, Susan Hawley, Jennifer Nadel, Tom Brake , Darren Hughes, Professor Liz David-Barrett, Professor Robert Hazell, Peter Riddell, Dame Margaret Hodge, Professor David Howarth, Sir Jonathan Jones KC, Lord Burns, Lord Jay, Professor Anand Menon, Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury, Baroness Prashar, Lord Anderson of Ipswich, Lord Sumption, Baroness Hayman, Baroness D’Souza, Oliver Letwin, Baroness Wheatcroft, Philip Rycroft, Philip Rutnam, Clare Moriarty, Lord McDonald of Salford, Baroness Browning and Sir David Normington.

The first part of the text of the letter to The Times associated with the standards statement.
The top of an article in The Times about the statement and associated letter.